The Dietrich Group | Dieter Janssen
page-template-default,page,page-id-21523,page-child,parent-pageid-53,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-1.5,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.3.4,vc_responsive

Set Designer- Dieter Janssen


Dieter Janssen is the director of DJA, an architectural practice based in Toronto, Canada.

He has worked collaboratively with artists on a number of installations including ‘Peeple’ (with Alex Schweder) in the Museum of Modern Art in New York’s permanent collection; ‘Yum!’ (also with Alex Schweder) at Henry Urbach Architecture, in New York; ‘Dark Source’ (with Ben Rubin of EAR Studio), at ZKM in Karlruhe; and ‘Travelogues’ (with Diller + Scofidio) on permanent display at JFK Airport Terminal 4, in New York.

His architectural career began in 1994 at the office of Hariri Pontarini Architects, before joining Smith-Miller + Hawkinson Architects in New York as an associate in 1999. At SM+H, he participated in the design of the Corning Glass Museum, The NYPD Museum, FutureBrand Company Headquarters and a number of cultural projects throughout the US. Dieter has subsequently collaborated with Diller Scofidio + Renfro on the winning proposal for the Eyebeam Museum of New Media in New York, and with the structural engineer, Guy Nordenson on several projects, including a radio broadcast tower proposal for the World Trade Center site (published in the New York Times Magazine and exhibited at the 2002 Venice Biennale); Baird Sampson Neuert Architects on the French River Visitor’s Centre in Alban, Ontario; Will Alsop, Bruce McLean and Realities:United for the Finch West and Steeles West stations; as lead design for the Red Line LRT in Tel Aviv with IBI Group; and is currently completing work on two projects: the Bergeron Centre, Lassonde School of Engineering for York University as well as the Vaughan Civic Centre Resource Library in Vaughan Ontario.

Dieter Janssen received a fellowship award for his Master’s degree in Architecture from Princeton University in 1999 and a Bachelor of Architecture with honours from the University of Toronto in 1996.